Honoree 2014 – Irene Iverson

Congrats to Irene Iverson for being honored as an outstanding community volunteer!

Iverson_IreneName:  Irene Iverson

Nominating Organization:  Tustin Area Woman’s Club

Honoree Category:  Human & Community

Why Nominated:  TAWC is proud of Irene for all her contributions. She has been an active member of the TAWC for 28 years, filling many positions, including President, Vice President, Conservation Chair, Fundraising and Hospital Auxiliary Gift Shop Chair. She has been a member of the Ebell Club of Irvine for 38 years, holding similar leadership positions. She has held, and is now holding leadership positions in the Orange District and the California Federation of Women’s Clubs. All Federated Women’s Clubs outreach into the community to improve the lives of others.  Irene retired in 1999 after 38 year of teaching. Her last 28 years were dedicated to children with Special Education needs in Irvine. Since then she has volunteered tutoring 3rd graders for the last 12 years, and has spent one day a week for 10 years with her grandchildren at their school as a Grandparent volunteer.  Irene shares her spirit of volunteerism with many other organizations.  For 34 years she has been a Red Cross Volunteer. She has volunteered with the South Coast Repertory as an Usher for 33 years, and the Orange County Performing Arts as an Usher for 27 years. She has been a Pasadena Rose Parade float decorator for 29 years and for 28 years she has delivered food for Meals on Wheels. Irene truly exemplifies the “Spirit of Volunteerism.”

Please write a note of congratulations below!

11 thoughts on “Honoree 2014 – Irene Iverson

  1. Congratulations Irene.
    You are so deserving of this recognition for all you do to help others.
    You have been a good friend and role model.
    I am glad to have shared in this memory with you.
    Big Hugs and Lots of Love
    Paula

  2. Dear Irene,
    Congratulations! You are such a special lady and I wish I could be there to celebrate with you. I will be in Austin with Family and I know I will be thinking of you. Love, Toby

  3. Hi Irene, I know you have been a great person to ask to volunteer for anything. I think it’s great that you are now being given this great reward for all your great work. Sorry I won’t be at the dinner with you. I’ll be in New York. Enjoy everything.
    Congratulations!!!

    Bev Spring

  4. Hi Irene:

    You truly deserve this award. I would be at the luncheon except I have to be at the TAWC Board meeting. Congratulations.

    Mary Armenta

  5. Dearest Girlfriend,
    What else can be said except… Hurray and Halleluiah!!! No one deserves this recognition more than you do… I know that doing “something” is what keeps you going… You go girl!!! and keep on going… The world needs more “Irenes”… Love and miss you… Wish I could be there in person, but you know I will be there in spirit… You inspire me… yours forever friend…. Kathi

  6. Hi Irene. I am so happy for you as I know you are a dedicated volunteer on so many projects which you do so well. I am sorry that I can’t be there with you as it is General Meeting day and being secretary, I have to be there. It is the first “Spirit” I have missed in about 20 years. I will be thinking about you and wishing you well for your much deserved honor.

  7. Hi Irene, You truly deserve this award, with all you do for the community. I am so happy that you will be recognized. I will bethinking about you that day. God’s blessings, Claudia

  8. Wow!! What a list of interesting volunteer activities. Congratulations Irene–a well deserved honor. Jean Davenport

  9. I am so happy for you Irene. You give so much and it is wonderful for you to be honored and recognized in this way. On behalf of the American Red Cross, just one of the many organizations you help, we applaud you. I personally appreciate your dedication, kindness, warmth and humility. Super congratulations!
    Mary Flores, Volunteer Services, American Red Cross

    • Surprise, Irene. I actually learned how to do this, at least hopefully. I am happy for all the accolades you’ve been receiving, and they are well-deserved. Did you ever dream that your good works would accumulate to such an impressive total of volunteering? I will be absent from the library book store for personal reasons for several Wednesdays, so I will not be able to attend your award ceremony. However, I will be there in spirit, and will look forward to your telling us all about it.

Leave a Reply

