Honoree 2015 – Tim Lyons

Congrats to Tim Lyons for being honored as an outstanding community volunteer!

Name:  Tim Lyons

Nominating Organization:  Alzheimer’s Family Services Center

Honoree Category:  Health

Why Nominated:  Tim joined our volunteer team in April 2014 and has already contributed over 200 hours of service. His commitment to older adults with debilitating illnesses such as Alzheimer’s and Parkinson’s disease began many years ago during his time volunteering at the Eisenhower Medical Center. He found the work to be so rewarding that when he moved back to the area he yearned for a similar experience. Tim understands the importance of the care he’s providing, which can be seen through his compassion, patience and understanding of individuals with memory loss. Tim engages our participants in stimulating conversation, competitive table games and therapeutic walks in the courtyard.

“There are the little things here that to me are so rewarding. I do puzzles with one of the participants pretty regularly. There are times where I’ll sit down and ask how she’s doing. And there will be a moment where she’ll just look at me and there are no words said, but she’ll just have this smile on her face and she’ll make eye contact with me. And that’s the kind of stuff that’s rewarding but you can’t really measure. I know that even though I may never meet the families of the participants here, I know they appreciate what I do.”

Staff have come to rely on Tim’s inherent ability to adapt the changing needs and unpredictable behaviors of this population. Whether it’s assisting with a particularly anxious individual, redirecting someone in a moment of confusion or helping to ensure a seamless transition from one program activity to another, Tim excels in all aspects of his volunteer role at Alzheimer’s Family Services Center.

Please write a note of congratulations below!

22 thoughts on “Honoree 2015 – Tim Lyons

  1. Tim, we are so fortunate to have you. You are such a wonderful part of our AFSC family and we appreciate your dedication to our participants. Congratulations on this much-deserved recognition!

    • Thank you Lucy for your kind words. I’m sorry for my late response to your congratulations. I feel very fortunate to be part of the AFSC family!

  2. CONGRATS TIM!!!!:-), Thank you for all you do to help our participants and staff: even when you are not speaking with words The glow in your eyes and the smile on your face speaks volumes of saying ” I Care!!! “.

    • Thank you Cheryl for letting me know that I make a difference. It feels good to have this particular population of adults to care for. My mother had dementia the last three years of her life. I was only able to care for her from a distance. Now I am able to do that which I could not do for her.

  3. I always know when Tim is at AFSC. He is like a flash light creating a bright beam of positivity for our participants. Tim has a gentle soul, a loving heart and a great attitude on life. He says that volunteering is making a difference in his life, but Alzheimer’s Family Services Center is reaping the benefits of his generous heart. Congratulations Tim!

    • Thank you Cindy. You have a special gift of helping me feel a greater part of our AFSC family. I am grateful for that. Your positivity and enthusiasm is contagious in a good way! Bring it on!

  4. Congratulations Tim! Your help is the best gift ever! The compassion and respect you show the participants does not go unnoticed. Your kindness and actions go a long way toward helping the participants keep their dignity. I want you to know how much I appreciate you and all you do for us, you do make a difference! Thank You!

    • Thank you Darlene. It is a great pleasure to work with you and the participants. The other day you told a new staff member that I was like staff. What a great compliment! Thank you for your loving heart, support and direction.

  5. Tim, you are so deserving of this honor because you embody the very meaning of public service. You are always willing to help out, whenever and wherever you are needed — and best of all, you do it with a smile on your face. Your outstanding volunteer contributions have enhanced the quality of life for Alzheimer’s Family Service Center’s participants and helped create a warm, positive and fun environment. We are so blessed to have you as part of our team. Congratulations Tim!!

    • Thank you Aimee for your heartfelt words. It was you that I first interviewed with when I was looking to volunteer at AFSC. Your presence embodies the meaning of dedication and service. I knew then I was in the ‘right’ place. I knew I wanted to be a volunteer at our facility.

  6. Tim, this is special and well-deserved recognition. On behalf of the AFSC Board of Directors, we could not meet our mission without inspiring and committed volunteers such as yourself. Thank you for all you do and for making such a difference in the lives of our Center’s participants and their families. It is greatly appreciated. Congratulations – Jim Remick (AFSC Board Chair)

    • Thank you Jim for your congratulations and support. I’m glad to know I am making a difference in the lives of our loved ones who need it so much.

  7. Tim, very well deserved recognition. The respect and compassion you show our participants is unreal. I really enjoy hearing you outside of my office with the men’s group playing the bean bag toss and just listening to your encouragement, cheers and positive out look to them just makes me sit there and smile. Congratulations and Thank you

    • Thank you Monica for your congratulations and support. I’m going to stop by your office one of these days soon and learn more about your trip to Africa. I want to see those pictures!

Leave a Reply

